APUO Ratification Meeting


Dear APUO Members,

A ratification meeting of the proposed collective agreement (1 May 2018 to 30 April 2021) will be held on Wednesday June 27, 2018. A summary of the process and results, followed by a «Questions and Answers» period, will take place from 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM, in the Alumni Auditorium UCU (85 University). The ratification vote itself will begin at 11:00 AM and last until 4:00 PM at the entrance of the Alumni Auditorium.

You can download the 2018-2021 Tentative Settlement which includes changes to the collective agreement and the letters of understanding that accompany it.

We hope to see you in large numbers, as with previous general meetings.


The APUO Executive Committee

The Association of Professors of the University of Ottawa (APUO) strives to make its services accessible to all persons with disabilities. If you require accommodations to access or to fully participate in this event, please contact Michel Desjardins (apuodir@uottawa.ca, 613-230-3659) at the APUO office no later than three (3) working days prior to the meeting/event. Such advance notice is essential for the APUO to make arrangements for any appropriate accommodation requests. 

APUO Executive Election results

Dear APUO members,

Following the elections held at the Annual General Meeting yesterday, Thursday April 27, 2017, the Nominations and Elections Committee (NEC) announces the results for each Executive Committee position.

First Vice-President

    • Jean-Daniel JACOB       149 votes (72%) Elected
    • Cristina PERISSINOTTO  57 votes (28%)

Second Vice-President

    • Raywat DEONANDAN     80 votes (41%)
    • Dimitrios KARMIS          115 votes (59%) Elected


    • Tyler CHAMBERLIN        65 votes (35%)
    • Jeanette HATHERILL    120 votes (65%) Elected

Mobilization Officer

    • Daniel PARÉ, Elected by acclamation

Equity Officer

    • Amir ATTARAN            43 votes (23%)
    • Kathryn TREVENEN   147 votes (77%) Elected

Academic Officer

    • Dalie GIROUX            109 votes (66%) Elected
    • Naomi GOLDENBERG   56 votes (34%)


    • Cheryl McWATTERS     42 votes (28%)
    • Colin MONTPETIT      110 votes (72%) Elected

The mandate of the newly elected officers will begin on July 1, 2017, the date at which the current President, Jennifer DEKKER, will begin her mandate as Past-President. The NEC thanks all candidates for their participation in the APUO’s electoral process. A Special General Meeting will be announced in the next few days in order to present additions and clarifications to the Constitution and By-Laws in relation to the upcoming APUO (Co-)Presidency (Richard BLUTE and Susan SPRONK). The NEC emphasizes the importance of giving full and complete support to the new APUO team that will begin their demanding work on July 1, 2017, especially in the context of a bargaining year (the Collective Agreement expires on April 30, 2018).

The Nominations and Elections Committee

Election Result- APUO President

Dear APUO members,

Following the counting of votes by the APUO administrative team, in front of the Nominations and Elections Committee, as well as the two candidates, we are announcing the results of the first ever APUO presidential election.

  • 432 valid ballots were received by 4:00 PM on April 25 2017;
  • Professor Richard Blute received 216 votes (50%);
  • Professor Susan Spronk received 216 votes (50%).

Professors Blute and Spronk both accept the electoral results and have agreed to be APUO co-presidents on an interim basis. We remind you to come out in large numbers to the Annual General Meeting which will be held at 1 p.m. tomorrow,Thursday April 27, 2017,  in the auditorium (150) in Marion Hall for the election of the six (6) remaining contested Executive Committee positions. You may view the list of candidates in the email the APUO sent a few weeks ago (http://mailchi.mp/ee69cce8a7e1/election).

The Nominations and Elections Committee


Association of Professors of the University of Ottawa
Monday, October 17, 2016
12:00 to14:30
Desmarais Building, Room 12102

sandwiches and dessert will be served from 12:00 to 12:30


  1. approval of the agenda
  2. minutes of previous meetings
  3. matters arising from the minutes
  4. president’s report
  5. secretary-treasurer’s report
  6. presentation by Judy Bates and Mark Rosenfeld, respectively President and Executive Director of the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Association (OCUFA), on the challenges that university faculty are facing in the current higher education environment and responses to those challenges.
  7. presentation by Paul Jones, Education Officer of the Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT) on online education and intellectual property
  8. other business

Workshops for DTPC members

To all APUO members,

Workshops exclusively for professors who are members of their Department/School Teaching Personnel Committee were presented jointly between the APUO and the Employer on September 14 and 15, 2016.

The objective of these workshops was to emphasize the links between the collective agreement and the review process of dossiers, promotion and/or tenure, contract renewal and academic leave. The workshops focused on the role and responsibilities of the Department/School Chair, of the DTPC/STPC, as well as highlight concrete means to help committee members meet their responsibilities.

You can download a copy of the presentation here.